Search ||  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

Name: Gannet Rock Light  

Feedback to the database manager

Nearest Town or City:
Grand Manan, New Brunswick, Canada

Location: South of Grand Manan, entrance to Bay of Fundy

Click to enlarge: Photo   
Related Photos

Managing Organization:
Canadian Coast Guard

This lighthouse is built on a small, barren, rocky island. The present lantern room was installed in 1967. Since the light was automated in 1996 and the keepers were removed, the tower and keeper's house have deteriorated greatly. A cleanup at Gannet Rock was completed by the Coast Guard in early 2003. Sheetrock was removed from the interior of the dwelling and all trash was also removed. In 2010, the stations was declared unsafe and off limits. It will be left to decay from the elements.

Tower Height: 75

Height of Focal Plane: 93

Characteristic and Range: White flash every six seconds, visible for 19 nautical miles.

Description of Tower: Wooden (with outer wall of cement) octagonal tower, black and white vertical stripes, with octagonal aluminum lantern.

This light is operational

Other Buildings?
Keeper's dwelling.

Date Established: 1831

Date Present Tower Built: 1831-tower raised in height in 1905

Date Automated: 1996

Optics: A second order Fresnel lens from this lighthouse is now at the Grand Manan Museum.

Fog Signal: Automated horn. Characteristic: Blast 2s; sil. 3s; blast 2s; sil. 3s; blast 2s; sil. 48s.

Current Use: Active aid to navigation.

Open To Public? No.

Accessible by boat only. Landing at Gannet Rock is very difficult.

Keepers: ? Lamb (1831-1835), E.G. Miller (1835-1837, drowned on duty), Jonathon Kent (1837-1843), Henry McLaughlin (1843-1853), Walter B. McLaughlin (1843-1880), Lincoln Harvey (1898-1904), Coleman Dalzell (1904-1910), Sidney Tatton (1910-1912), Allen Wilson (1912-1919), Arthur Wilson (1919-1929), Donald W. Wilson (1929-1944), Garfield Wilson (1944), Hayward Forsythe (1944-1946), Frank Linton (1946-1947), Frank M. Tucker (1947-1955), Bernard G. Deveau (1955-1959), Howard N. Ingalls (1959-1962), Ralph N. Maker (1962-1963), Lawrence Benson (1963-1966), Addison Naves (1966-1971), Douglas S. Daggett (1971-1974), Donald Denton (1974-1982), Sidney Guptill (1982-1989), Barry S. Bagley (1989-1996).

to Lighthouse Digest

USLHS Marker Fund

Lighthouse History
Research Institute

Shop Online

Subscribe   Contact Us   About Us   Copyright Foghorn Publishing, 1994- 2023 Lighthouse Facts       Lighthouse History