Search ||  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H  I  J  K  L  M  N  O  P  Q  R  S  T  U  V  W  X  Y  Z 

Name: Eagle Island Light (Maine)   Map it!

Feedback to the database manager

Nearest Town or City:
Deer Isle, Maine, United States

Location: East Penobscot Bay.

Click to enlarge: Photo   
Photo: Jeremy D'Entremont

Managing Organization:
Eagle Light Caretakers

Contact Address Information:
c/o Sam Howe
2742 Normandy Drive NW
Georgia, 30305, United States

After automation the Coast Guard destroyed all the buildings at the light station except the lighthouse and the bell tower, which is privately owned. Under the Maine Lights Program the lighthouse was transferred to the Eagle Light Caretakers.

Tower Height: 30

Height of Focal Plane: 106

Characteristic and Range: Flashing white every four seconds.

Description of Tower: White conical granite tower with black cast iron lantern.

This light is operational

Other Buildings?
1939 wooden, pyramidal fog bell tower. All other buildings were demolished in 1964.

Date Established: 1838

Date Present Tower Built: 1838

Date Automated: 1959

Optics: 1858: Fourth order Fresnel lens; now 300 mm solar powered.

Fog Signal: 1838: Fog bell and tower; 1932: new 4,200 pound fog bell.

Current Use: Active aid to navigation.

Open To Public? No.

Eagle Island Light is difficult to see from shore. It is probably best seen from some of the special lighthouse cruises from Camden on board the Lively Lady Too; see

Mapquest URL: Click here to get a map to this lighthouse!

Keepers: John Spear (1838-1841, 1843-1848); ? Spear (wife of John, 1848); Nathan Philbrook (1841-1843); Daniel Moore (1849-1850); William Smith (1850-1853); R.C. Clay (1853-1858, 1859-1861); Rodney Witherspoon (1861-1871); A. P. Sweetland (1871-1883); John Ball (1883-1898); Howard T. Ball (1898-1913); Lucy Ball (1913); Edward S. Farren (1913-1918); Charles W. Allen (1919-1931); Frank E. Bracey, Jr. (1931-1945); Chester Burnham (Coast Guard, 1945-1946); Calvin Curtis (Coast Guard, 1946-1949); Ralph Banks (Coast Guard, 1949-1952); Edmund Sedgwick (Coast Guard, 1952-1955), Roy Louder (Coast Guard, 1955-1956); Edward Le Tendre (Coast Guard, 1956-1957); Wayne McGraw (1957-1959); ? Bok (Coast Guard, c. 1959).

to Lighthouse Digest

USLHS Marker Fund

Lighthouse History
Research Institute

Shop Online

Subscribe   Contact Us   About Us   Copyright Foghorn Publishing, 1994- 2023 Lighthouse Facts       Lighthouse History