The picturesque and historic 1870 Point Iroquois Lighthouse, located within the boundaries of the Hiawatha National Forest, is undergoing a major restoration.
Deactivated in 1962, Point Iroquois Lighthouse is located on Lake Superior near Sault Ste. Marie at the mouth of the St. Mary’s River overlooking Whitefish Bay. The light station now houses a museum in the keeper’s house and the tower is normally open for tours.
The restoration project entails removal of the old paint, brick replacement and re-pointing as well as door and window replacement and other related work.
Shown here is popular folk singer, song writer and author Carl “Bearfoot” Behrend of Old Country Painting and Decorating, as he is water blasting the tower to remove the old paint. This is followed by brickwork repair by Olsen and Olsen Building Contractors, which as you can see is desperately needed.
There are more photographs in the print edition of the story. To subscribe, click here.
This story appeared in the
Sep/Oct 2011 edition of Lighthouse Digest Magazine. The print edition contains more stories than our internet edition, and each story generally contains more photographs - often many more - in the print edition. For subscription information about the print edition, click here.
All contents copyright © 1995-2024 by Lighthouse Digest®, Inc. No story, photograph, or any other item on this website may be reprinted or reproduced without the express permission of Lighthouse Digest. For contact information, click here.